Sarasota Orchestra Introduces New Concert Series for 2017 – 2018

Season: Discoveries

SARASOTA, FL – August 20, 2017 – Sarasota Orchestra introduces a new series, Discoveries, for
the upcoming 2017 – 2018 season. The series consists of three 75-minute programs of shorter
works, accessible and intriguing to newcomers to classical music. Each concert will include an
optional ‘talk back’ session with the conductor and the soloist after the performance.
“These are classical concerts for everyone. People new to the classical experience discover
what makes the art form so special, while long-time patrons will explore works that are not
typically performed in our Masterworks series,” said Joseph McKenna, President and CEO of the
Sarasota Orchestra.
Different guest conductors will lead each program to promote variety. “Each brings their
unique perspectives to the themed programs and will offer insights and new discoveries about
classical music,” said McKenna. The concerts will include one piece by a living composer that
they find especially accessible, added McKenna.
Sarasota Orchestra musicians will be featured as soloists for each concert. The Discoveries
concert series will be at the historic Sarasota Opera House on September 23, January 6 and May5

Saturday, September 23, 2017, 7:30pm, Sarasota Opera House
Steven Jarvi, conductor

Betsy Traba, flute
RESPIGHI Ancient Airs and Dances, Suite 1
FOSS Renaissance Concerto
Betsy Traba, flute
WALKER Lyric for Strings
MOZART Symphony No. 25
Saturday, January 6, 2018, 7:30pm, Sarasota Opera House
Stefan Sanders, conductor
Natalie Helm, cello
SMETANA The Moldau
WHITACRE The River Cam
Natalie Helm, cello
COPLAND Suite from The Tender Land
BARBER Souvenirs
MAXWELL DAVIES An Orkney Wedding, With Sunrise
Gary Reinstrom, bagpipes
Saturday, May 5, 2018, 7:30pm, Sarasota Opera House
Aram Demirjian, conductor
Jonathan Spivey, piano
Michael Austin, English horn
Trumpet TBA*
BEETHOVEN Overture to The Ruins of Athens
BOCCHERINI Quintet No. 2 (Night Music of the Streets of Madrid)
ADDINSELL Warsaw Concerto
Jonathan Spivey , piano
BERNSTEIN Three Dances from Fancy Free
COPLAND Quiet City
Michael Austin, English horn, TBA Trumpet*
*Auditions for Principal Trumpet will be held in September.
GRUBER Manhattan Broadcasts


Comments are closed.